VERY Late Valentine’s Day entry..

Just a short entry today – but something I had completely forgotten! Bert and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. I don’t need Hallmark to tell me what day of the year I can tell him how much I love him. I think it also raises expectations, causes arguments up and down the land and makes single people feel rather alone.

The one thing I will point out is that Saint Valentine is the patron saint of Epilepsy, so I thought that shouldn’t go unacknowledged.

On the 14th of February I woke about 4am as is per usual, and at 6am put on the BBC Breakfast news (Bert doesn’t mind as long as the TV doesn’t go on before that). They were doing the usual Valentine’s Day schmaltz but asked people to email in with their proposal stories.

Now, I genuinely can’t remember if I have alluded as to how Bert “proposed” to me or not, but to cut a long story short, on the 26th of August 2011 we woke up one morning and announced that we were getting married! So, off we went to town, bought a ring and he put it on my finger in the multi storey car park. Yep, that was it!!

So, being the devil that I am, I emailed in with our story, adding that we don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day and I actually wouldn’t have had it any other way. I then didn’t give it another thought….

As seems to be the programming on BBC Breakfast news, they keep the lighter stories until the end, and had brought in a relationship counsellor to talk about Valentine’s Day, the implications, proposals etc.

That morning had our two favourite presenters on, Charlie Stait and Susannah Reid. So, they bring out the proposal emails and Susannah launches into one about a couple whose husband to be had chartered a plane and flown over her favourite Church and had laid out “Will you marry me?” in flowers in the churchyard! Her face could barely contain her distain and Charlie was chuckling away.

THEN.. (and I think you can see where this one is going), Charlie read out an email from Sarah, saying that her husband to be had woke up one morning, announced that they were going to get married….. yep! They read out my email to them! Susannah was killing herself laughing and quipped “my kind of proposal” and even the relationship counsellor was trying his hardest not to laugh.

It took Bert a few seconds to cotton on as to what was going on (thank god for Sky +) and he was absolutely thrilled! It thought I might be in the dog house, but when he saw the presenter’s reactions he was absolutely made up and spent the rest of the day with the biggest smile on his face I have seen in a long time.

I am SO going to have to up the ante next year! Gifts we may not do, but I think we might just have started something here…..

Sarah

Leave a Reply

