My birthday came early!

Ok, confession time here. I don’t watch much TV, really do prefer films full stop but I do have one slight obsession. Supernatural. I can remember clearly in 2005 an ad catching my eye on TV, it was actually the song that accompanied it (The Killing Moon by Echo and the Bunnymen) but that is pretty irrelevant.

So, had a quick look at the ad and it was love at first sight. Well, praise be to Chuck and Cas (only anyone remotely interested will get that reference) Season 8 has arrived! I am going to save it for later for when I have been out but god, I can’t wait.

Fortunately my family know that my obsession is NOT to be interrupted at any time.

I have been there from the start, experienced the highs and lows of ‘The little show that could’. The writers strike that nearly took it off air, the untimely death of Kim Manners (Lazarus Rising still makes me bawl like a baby) and I will never give up. Apparently Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles have signed up to Season 10 so fingers crossed. Ben Edlund is taking over as show runner as well as Sera Gamble did, he will probably take it in the right direction again.

Erik Kripke (the brains behind the operation) had mapped out a 5 season story arc so seasons 6 and 7 are a bit ad hoc, so yeah, I am 38 and bouncing on my bed with excitement to see where we are going to go from here.

To quote Jensen Ackles, the fandom is rabid! Yeah, we are all quite protective of ‘our’ show. I feel that I can say our with confidence as the team really do interact well with the fans. And as for Misha Collins? Well, THE finest introduction of a character to a series 4 seasons in.

And, on that, I am going to leave you with a quote from Ben Edlund.

“You have to love something before you can feel its loss”

Sarah

Leave a Reply

