Christ, pass the Valium

I think we can safely say that today has not gone to plan. I am currently ensconced in my bed (well, more of a nest with a cot side in case I fall out – which I have done on several occasions) with just me, Bert at the other end of the baby monitor and Marvel films for company (currently on The Incredible Hulk if anyone is interested). Oh joy of joys. And as for the Valium? I wasn’t joking. It is 5pm and I got 2 hours sleep last night and you betcha, little sleep = lots of fits. Already had 4 today so far so am taking time out to have a bit of a release and break from them.

Well, the wedding dress fitting didn’t go to plan yesterday – my lovely (and I genuinely mean it) dressmaker called saying that the embroidery wasn’t finished so wedding dress fitting take 2 on Friday. At 10am – should be interesting! I am not normally able to get my legs moving until lunchtime!

Yesterday wasn’t a total bomb though, Mum, Bert and I went up to our main town and did some (more) shopping and had lunch out which was rather pleasant for a change. Sure as hell beats my normal routine of having to sit in bed whilst other people do things for me. If you haven’t already noticed, I am having a downer of a day.

So, on to brighter things. 3 weeks ago, we, and by that I mean me, my Mum, Joshua and Elizabeth thought that that was our family. My father drank himself to death a few years ago and it was a running joke that we could hold a family reunion in a broom cupboard. I know I am marrying into a big family, but that is besides the point. Anyway, Mum got a message out of the blue on Facebook asking about her Father. All we knew was that he abandoned her and my Grandmother when she was 2 and a half and that was the last we heard and presumed him dead (my Mum is 70). Well, seems not. Not that my Grandfather is dead, he most certainly is, but it turned out she had a younger brother who had been looking for her for 22 years.

As you can imagine, a bit of a shock to say the least! So, with phone numbers exchanged over the internet, Mum called her younger brother and he had a bit of a shock for her too. She doesn’t have one brother, or two, or three or four. She has 5! Yep, Mum went from being an only child to one of 6 in the space of 24 hours! Oh, and I get 11 cousins into the mix too. Pretty impressive for a day’s work.

Our new found family live a boat or plane ride away but have been beyond welcoming. We honestly had no idea they were out there as Mum had always forbidden me for looking for my Grandfather but they had known about her for 22 years and had never given up. I know it sounds like the kind of crap you would see on daytime TV, but to actually have it to you is unbelievable. My Uncles, Aunties and cousins have all been very helpful and tolerant of me – they all live close by and are from a big family. I am an only child, with two of my own so there is so much to take in. I do hasten to add, I nearly got Mum to sign an affidavit that I WAS an only child!

As I can’t travel at the moment, Mum is going over to see them before Christmas and hopefully I will make it over afterwards. Obviously apart from the wedding (3 weeks and 3 days, not that I am counting) I can’t wait to meet them all. One of my Uncle’s wife’s I have hit it off with really well and we email daily, just usual dross but I love it.

So, tomorrow, and I swear I am not lying, I am going to try and get the rest of the wedding invites out. I kid you not. Nothing like leaving it until the last minute. In my mitigation, I haven’t been at my best but I really should have pulled my finger out by now. Ah well, who turns up will turn up – as long as the Priest, Bert and I are there I am passed caring currently. I am sure I will feel differently tomorrow!

Apologies for this being all over the place, just how my brain works, but I had a Drs appointment yesterday. Now, for anyone that doesn’t know, if you have an infection, you are more susceptible to seizures. I am not quite sure who to thank for the chest infection that I am now thoroughly enjoying (or to quote Bert at 3am – “God, you are barking like a dog with that cough”) but if I make it up the aisle I will be impressed!

Just a general out loud thought but I can smell curry coming from the kitchen and urgh, it is making me want to puke! No doubt in about 25 minutes I am going to be asked what I would like for my tea (Bert is an absolute superstar, believe you and me, I couldn’t cope without him and wouldn’t cope without him) but I can absolutely guarantee that curry is NOT going to be top of the list! I have gone right off hot food since I had a fit face first into a bowl of chili and scalded my face funnily enough! Apparently there are tons of pictures of me on the families phones of me in states of seizures doing strange things (all with my prior permission, I hasten to add). I was introduced to ‘planking’ by one of them and it looked to all intents and purposes that I had joined in the craze, the only giveaway being I was unconscious as I had knocked myself out against the skirting board in the process!

Apparently the hilarity just gets better when I eat after I have taken my medication (I have to have it after food). I have no idea why but sometimes it just hits me like a brick wall and I try and feed my nose, eyes, you name it. Bert and I have been known to be sat together with me trying to feed my nose and him directing me ‘lower, lower, too low, up a bit’ – you get the picture (that I am NOT posting!!)

As for Leanne trying on her bridesmaids dress, I will leave that for another day as I don’t think there is enough Valium in the pharmacy to get me through that drama.

So, with tentative plans of delivering the last of the wedding invitations and (consults diary) bugger all else tomorrow and on a seizure count of 4, I bid thee farewell.

Sarah

Leave a Reply

